Tres citas con Javier | Three dates with Javier

By  Meredith Jett, Cendana ’18

When I heard the theme “dual” I was immediately reminded of the dual life I sometimes felt when I was living in Mexico–one life in English and one life in Spanish. This is just one example of how that duality and tension came to the surface.

Spanish

Supongo que, en algún lado del cerebro, sabía yo que no podía salir con Javier por más de tres citas. Me parecía que la farsa que me trajo hasta ese punto se desmoronaría, y con razón. El problema no era él; era divertido, inteligente y amable. El problema era que yo tenía el mismo vocabulario y dominio del español que un niño.

Había llegado a México solo cuatro semanas antes de conocer a Javier, y mientras que había estudiado español por unos años antes de hacer mi semestre de intercambio, mi español estaba enmohecido y era de manual. Podía entender mucho más de lo que podía decir, pero aún entonces era difícil de vez en cuando. Si Javier me hablaba por más de cuatro minutos, sin pausa, a un ritmo natural, me reducía a intentar identificar las palabras y temas clave. Y allí se inició la crisis de identidad, el tipo de crisis de identidad que solo podría afectar a los que tienen 20 años, están en un país extranjero, e intentan salir con gente que no habla su lengua materna: ¿soy la misma persona cuando hablo en español que cuando hablo en inglés?

En cierto nivel sentí que estaba siendo injusta con él: cuando alguien te dice la historia de su vida, esperan que te acuerdes de algo más que los temas generales. Pero sentí que había otro nivel de mi fraude. Con un español tan básico, ¿podría expresarme honesta y sinceramente?

Intentaba expresarme genuinamente, pero durante esta época empecé a darme cuenta de cuánto de mi identidad relaciono con mi uso del lenguaje. Me gusta el sarcasmo, el humor, el chachareo y los juegos de palabras. Cuando estaba con Javier hablando en español, me rebajaba a usar la cara para expresar incredulidad, rareza o cualquier emoción más fuerte o compleja que lo que se evoca con declaraciones como ‘me gusta’ o ‘no me gusta’.

Javier me dijo que era “expresiva,” pero eso fue después de que dije “no” muy fuerte cuando me preguntó si me gustaron los camarones. De hecho no era expresiva; era reservada y callada, escuché más que hablé, mis respuestas eran más sinceras que sarcásticas, y me concentré intensamente en el presente. Yo era diferente. Quizás era que las conversaciones fueron demasiado rápidas, o que no supe ser sarcástica, o que los tiempos de los verbos en el presente son más fáciles que los del pasado, pero aun así, la Meredith que se presentaba en el mundo era distinta, y me pregunté si eso cambió a la Meredith que era en realidad.

Con mi torpe y mal español intenté decirle a Javier todo esto y que ya no podía salir con él. No estoy segura que él entendió. Si había logrado entender esos pensamientos confusos, gramaticalmente incorrectos, medio formados que le tiré a él, estaría impresionada.

Mi español mejoró con el tiempo, y con eso muchos de los problemas al expresarme disminuyeron lentamente.  ¡A veces incluso hice bromas! Encontré medios de traducirme a mi misma en mi cerebro de inglés a español y empecé a sentirme más como yo en mis relaciones. Sin embargo, como con toda traducción, no era perfecta. Aún me pregunto si cuando salgo contigo en español, si soy en realidad yo.

English

A part of me knew that I could never go on more than 3 dates with Javier. I figured that whatever charade had gotten me to the fourth date would fall apart at that point, and rightfully so. The problem was not him, he had a good sense of humor, he was intelligent and kind. But I had the vocabulary and language mastery of a toddler.

I had arrived in Mexico about four weeks before meeting Javier, and while I had studied Spanish for some years before studying abroad, my Spanish was rusty and very textbook. I could understand much more than I could say, but even then it was difficult at times. If Javier spoke at a natural pace for more than 4 minutes straight I was reduced to trying to pick out keywords and themes. There enters the identity crisis, the kind of identity crisis that only a 20-year-old abroad, trying to date in Mexico could have: am I the same person when I speak in Spanish as I am when I speak in English?

On one level I felt like I was being unfair to him. When someone tells you their life story they expect you to remember more than general themes and ideas. But I felt there was another layer to my fraud. With such basic Spanish could I possibly honestly and sincerely represent myself?

I definitely tried to express myself genuinely, but during this time I began to realize how much of my identity I associate with my language usage. I like sarcasm, wit, banter and word games. When I was with Javier speaking in Spanish, I was reduced to using my face to express incredulousness, whimsy, or any emotion stronger or more complex than what is evoked by basic like and dislike statements.

Javier told me I was, “expressive,” but this was after I said “no” very strongly when asked if I liked shrimp. In actuality I was quiet, I listened more than I spoke, my responses when they came were more genuine than sarcastic, and I was intensely focused on the present.  I was different. Maybe this was because the conversations went too fast for me to interject, because I didn’t know how to be sarcastic, or because the present verb tense is easier than the past verb tenses, but even so, it changed the Meredith that was presented to the world and I questioned whether that changed the Meredith that I was.

With convoluted, bad Spanish I tried to tell Javier this and that I couldn’t see him anymore. I’m not sure he understood. If he had managed to put together those confusing, grammatically incorrect, half formed thoughts that I flung at him I would be impressed.

My Spanish improved over time, and with that many of my issues with expressing myself slowly diminished. Sometimes I even occasionally made jokes! I found ways to translate my English-brained self into Spanish and I began to feel more like me in my relationships. But, as with all translation, it was never perfect. I still wonder sometimes whether if you date me in Spanish you date a different me.

2 thoughts on “Tres citas con Javier | Three dates with Javier

Leave a Reply

