Untitled

By Silvia Lara, Elm ’18

Explaining the difference between Silvia, the Italian Junior and Silvia, the Sardinian girl.

Italian

Tornare a casa è come fare un viaggio nel tempo. Magari con qualche chilo in più, ma tutti si aspettano di vedere in me la persona che ero quando ancora vivevo laggiù, quasi sei anni fa. La mia famiglia mi ha osservato crescere, ha apprezzato e mi ha sostenuto nei miei cambiamenti. Ma per il mio paese di poco più di duemila abitanti, quella che ero rimarrò sempre, in tutto e per tutto. Tutto tranne un piccolo dettaglio: io me ne sono andata.

Io non ho continuato a frequentare la scuola dove tutti i miei coetanei hanno studiato. Io non ho partecipato alla festa religiosa del paese, che noi ventunenni dobbiamo organizzare. Io ho scelto di non uscire il sabato sera a passeggiare, tra il bar e la pizzeria. Siamo cresciuti tutti assieme, ventuno ragazzi nella stessa classe dalla scuola materna – ma io ho deciso ‘che loro non erano abbastanza per me’.

Quando tutto quello che hai conosciuto e hai sempre voluto fare risiede in un perimetro di cento chilometri, non ci sono vie di mezzo. Io volevo scoprire cosa ci fosse all’esterno, volevo assaggiare cibi di regioni e paesi lontani, volevo mettermi alla prova in situazioni nuove e difficili. È difficile spiegare che la mia curiosità non implica ingratitudine verso tutto quello con cui sono cresciuta.

Quando una rimpatriata si avvicina, è difficile trattenere l’ansia. Solitamente, indosso la maschera e vado. Recito la mia parte, cercando di imitare l’accento che avevo un tempo. La mia scelta di parole cerca di evitare l’effetto ‘da continentale’. I miei vestiti e il mio trucco rispecchiano quello che si aspettano. Cerco di nascondere le esperienze e le differenze accumulate in questi ultimi anni – potrebbero sembrare presuntuose e altezzose. Bada bene, sono sempre io a parlare. L’arte che ho imparato non è il fingere, è qualcosa di più sottile, più rischioso: è più simile ad un gioco di seduzione dove scoprire è importante quanto coprire.

A volte penso che ci siano due me, quella del passato che esiste quando torno a casa, e quella che sono a Singapore. L’una ignora l’esistenza dell’altra, come il giorno ignora la notte. Ora ascoltate una voce, a casa racconterò questi pensieri con la voce che voi non conoscerete mai.  

English

Going back home is like travelling in time. Maybe with a few additional kilos, but everyone expects to see the same person I was when I still lived down there, about six years ago. My family helped me grow, they appreciated and supported my changes. However, for my small town of just above two thousand people I will always remain the same. Maybe with just a small difference: I decided to leave.

I did not continue attending school where all my other classmates studied. I did not help organize the religious festival of my town, as all twenty-one year-olds are supposed to do. I chose not to go out on Saturday evenings, to stroll between the bar and the pizzeria. We all grew up together: all twenty-one of us in the same class since kindergarten – but I was the one who decided that ‘they were not enough for me’.

When all that you’ve known and all that you’ve wanted to do lies within 100 km, there is no compromise. I wanted to know what is there beyond my town, I wanted to taste flavors from distant countries and regions, I wanted to challenge myself with new and difficult situations to tackle. It’s difficult to explain that my curiosity does not imply ungratefulness towards everything that raised me.

When we meet again, it’s difficult to control the anxiety. Usually, I wear my mask and go. I play my part, trying to use the accent that I used to have. My choice of words tries to avoid the ‘continental’ (from mainland Italy – we call ‘continent’ everything that is not Sardinia) effect. My clothes and my make-up reflect their expectations. I try to hide the experiences and the differences that I gathered in these last few years – they could seem pretentious and self-aggrandizing. Careful, do not think I am not the one speaking. The art I mastered is not about lies, it’s about something much subtler and riskier: it’s more similar to a seduction game where covering is as important as uncovering.

Sometimes I believe there are two me, the one from the past and that exists when I go back home, and the one that I am in Singapore. One ignores the existence of the other, the same way the day ignores the night. Now you are listening to one voice, once home I will tell these same thoughts speaking with the voice you will never know.

2 thoughts on “Untitled

Leave a Reply

