एक बहुमूल्य एहसास | A Valuable Realization

By Shikhar Agarwal, Cendana ’20

I apologize to you for this passage, that may have not met your expectations at all. There is a lot to say, but the words refuse to come out. In this moment, this story is what comprises the biggest duality of my life and I really hope that the golden letters of this beautiful language, will, in you, my dear readers, birth a desire to understand and find out more about my country, my mother tongue.
Thank you so much for your time!

Hindi

हिन्दी मेरी मातृभाषा है, पर मुझे यह अनुच्छेद लिखने में इतनी मुश्किल हो रही है कि यही कार्य दुनिया की सबसे बढ़ी द्वंदता है एक तरफ़ मैं मौखिक अंग्रेज़ी में अपने विचार पूरी तरह से प्रकट नहीं कर सकता, और दूसरी तरफ़ मैं हिन्दी अखबार को अधिक ध्यान दिए बिना नहीं पढ़ सकता।

अगर किसी से दिल की बात कहनी हो तो मुख से सबसे पहले हिन्दी अक्षर निकलते हैं, लेकिन अगर कंप्यूटर से किसी के ऊपर अपना जादू चलाना हो तो उंगलियों से अंग्रेज़ी वर्णों निकलते हैं मैंने स्वयं से अक्सर यही सवाल पूछा है: ऐसा क्यों है? ऐसा क्यों है कि मुझे अपनी भाषा, अपने देश से इतना लगाव है कि मैं इनके लिए अपनी जान कुर्बान कर दूंगा, पर सड़क पर अगर गाड़ी चलाते हुए कोइ पोस्टर दिखे तो बिना गौर से देखे समझ आना मुश्किल पढ़ जाता है।

जब मैंने यह अनुवाद लिखना शुरू किया तो मुझे समझ नहीं आया कि मेरी भाषा से जुड़ा ऐसा क्या है जिसमें द्वन्द्वता है, और सिर्फ यही तकलीफ़ मेरे दिमाग में आई। येलनयुएस में रहते हुए, हिन्दी में बात करने के अवसर यूँ ही कही हफ्ते में एक, या ज़्यादा से ज़्यादा दो बार मिलते हैं पर जब भी यह अवसर गुज़रते हैं, तो दिल में खुशी कि नर्म गर्मी जागृत होती है। दूसरों की लेने में, और बकवास करेने में, जो मज़ा हिन्दी बोलते समय आता है, वह आनंद अंग्रेज़ी में कहाँ? अगर कभी, तो बढ़ी मुश्किल से मिल पाता है।

सिर्फ भाषा ही नहीं, मेरी पहचान से जुड़े जितने भी भारतीय तत्व है, वह घर से दूर रहने के बाद ही उभरने लगे है। जब से मैं वर्ष का था, अपने माता पिता से दूर जाकर रहना चाहता था। मुझे अपने अंग्रेज़ी बोलने की काबिलीयत पर बहुत नाज़ होता था और जिनकी हिन्दी बोलने कि क्षमता उनकी अंग्रेज़ी से बढ़ कर होती थी, उन पर दया करता था। मैं पूजा में कभी शांति से जट कर नहीं बैठता था और अपने हिन्दू धर्म से जुदा रहता था। पर जब से सिंगापुर में कदम रखे हैं, तब से ऐसा कोई जादू फैला है जिसने मुझे बदल दिया है। मैंने ना ही कभीकबार भगवान की मूर्ति के सामने मंत्र गा कर पूजा करनी शुरू की है, पर मुझे अपने परिवार, अपने लोग, जाति, और अपने देश कि परंपरा कि प्रस्तावना करने का बहुत शौक चढ़ गया है।

मैं आप से माफी माँगता हूँ कि यह अनुवाद आपकी उम्मीदें से कई पायदान नीचे निकला, बात यह है कि बोलने को तो बहुत है, पर शब्दों के ज्ञान में चूकता हूँ।

बस यही है इस क्षण में मेरी ज़िंदगी की सबसे बढ़ी द्वन्द्वता और मेरी बस यही उम्मीद है की आप, मेरे प्यारे पाठकों के जिगर में, इस सुंदर ज़बान के सुनहरे अक्षर देख कर, मेरी भाषा, मेरे देश के प्रति उत्सुकता जागृत होगी।

आपके समय के लिए बहुत बहुत धन्यवाद!

 

English

Hindi is my native language, but the fact that I am finding it difficult to write this article is a prime example of this world’s duality.

On one hand, I cannot fully express my views in English, and on the other hand, I cannot read Hindi newspapers without paying close attention to the words.

If I want to say something heartfelt to someone, then Hindi words are the first things that come to mind, but if I want to impress someone, then my fingers fly on English keys.

Time and time again, I have asked myself this question: why is this so?

Why is it that even though I have so much love for my language and my country—so much so that I would sacrifice my life to protect them—, if I see a Hindi billboard while driving on the street, it is difficult to understand without paying close attention.

When I started writing this piece, I could not think of an issue related to my language that would satisfy the theme of duality, until this struck me. At Yale-NUS, opportunities to speak in Hindi are few and far in between; but when they do arise, once, or sometimes twice, in a week, a soft warmth takes over my heart. The joy one gets from chilling with friends and making fun of each other in Hindi, where is it in English?

Not just language, other Indian elements of my personality have started blossoming since I left home. I have wanted to leave home ever since I was eight. I used to be very proud of my ability to speak English well and used to pity those who could present their thoughts better in Hindi than in English. I never sat still for prayer sessions in my house and, for the most part, was estranged from Hindu traditions. But ever since I arrived in Singapore, I seem to have been wrapped in an air of magic that has changed me. Not only have I started occasionally worshiping an idol while chanting mantras, I have also become very keen to introduce others to my family, my people, my culture, and my country’s traditions.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “एक बहुमूल्य एहसास | A Valuable Realization

Leave a Reply

