The Culture of Food in Barcelona | La cultura de la comida en Barcelona

By Shanice Nicole Stanislaus, Cendana’17

This article was written during my summer in Barcelona where I was working as a profes- sional dancer and I wanted to share how much food played a big role in my experience in connecting with the culture and the people.

Spanish

“¿Te ha gustado?”

Siempre en Barcelona, esto es lo que los nativos me preguntaban. En mi casa de la abuela, Conchita Jimeno, en los restaurantes, incluso en la panadería que vende las palmeritas.

“Sí, sí. Me encanta la comida”, siempre respondía.

Inmediatamente, se dibujaba una sonrisa divina en la cara de la persona que me preguntaba.

Hay mucho orgullo por su cultura gastronómica en Barcelona especialmente con las tortillas de patatas, la paella, chocolate con churros, el gazpacho y mucho más. Para mi, el aspecto relacionado con la comida que me ha sorprendido más es el menú del día. Por diez euros tienes dos platos, con una bebida, pan sin límite y un postre.

Para una bailarina que trabajaba en Barcelona por el verano, la comida es una fiesta. Siempre iba a mi restaurante favorito (maná de Calle la Independencia) para disfrutar la comida cocinada con amor y pasión. Mis platos favoritos son el pescado romana, gazpacho de sandía y el pan porque Europa en general tiene el mejor pan en el mundo. ¡Es verdad! Por la noche, para la cena Conchita Jimeno también cocinaba una cena increíble.

“Estos platos son muy saludables, me encantan” yo siempre respondía.

“¡Claro que sí! Porque es la comida mediterránea, estamos en el mediterráneo” mi abuela respondía mientras miraba como yo comía hasta saciarme.

En España, la familia es muy importante. Así, la cultura de comida está relacionada con la cultura de la familia. Es una costumbre que durante el mediodía y también durante la cena, la gente vaya a la casa o un restaurante para comer con la familia.

Así, se pueden ver muchas familias que hacen un esfuerzo por comer con la familia. Cuando yo vivía con mi abuela española, comíamos y hablabamos por más de una hora. Perdíamos la noción del tiempo porque la comida nos brinda la oportunidad de conectar con las personas que amamos.

“¿Te ha gustado?” Conchita me preguntaba. En la mesa estaban su tortilla de patatas especial y un plato de ensalada de lentejas.

“Si, la comida está fenomenal.”

English

“¿Did you like it?”

This is the question that the locals always ask me in Barcelona. In the house of my grandmother, Conchita Jimeno, in restaurants and even in the bakery that sells palmeritas (a type of cookie).

“Yes, Yes. I love the food,” I would always respond.

Immediately, a divine smile would appear on the face of the person asking me.

There is a lot of pride in the culture of food in Barcelona especially with the tortillas de patatas (an egg and potato dish), paella, chocolate with churros, Gazpacho (a tomato-based soup) and much more. For me, the thing related to food that surprised me the most was the menú of the day. With approximately 10 euros, I can buy two dishes, with a drink, unlimited bread and dessert.

For a dancer working in Barcelona for the summer, food is a party. I would always go to my favorite restaurant (maná of Calle la Independencia) to enjoy the food cooked with love and passion. My favorite dishes are the Roman fish, the watermelon Gazpacho and bread because Europe has the best bread in the world. It’s true. In the night, during dinner, Conchita Jimeno would cook an incredible dinner.

“These dishes are very healthy, I love them,” I would always comment.

“Of course, because the food is Mediterranean. We are in the Mediterranean.” my grandmother would always respond as she watched me eat until I was full.

In Spain, family is very important. So, the culture of food is related to the culture of family. There is a custom that during lunch and during dinner, people would go home or to a restaurant to eat with their family.

So, I can see many families putting effort to eat with their family. Also, when I lived with a grandmother, we could eat and talk for more than an hour. We would forget the notion of time because food was an opportunity to connect with the people we love.

“Did you like it?” Conchita asked me. On the table, was hear special tortilla de patatas and a plate of lentil salad.

“Yes, the food is phenomenal.”

One thought on “The Culture of Food in Barcelona | La cultura de la comida en Barcelona

Leave a comment